Nintendo Support

What Is Lost After Initializing the Nintendo Switch?

Initializing the Nintendo Switch will remove the following data:

  • All data in the system memory, including software, save data, screenshots, and user information will be deleted, restoring the console to factory settings.

  • All software saved on the microSD card, except for screenshots, will become unusable. (Data on the microSD card will not be deleted.)

  • Any Nintendo Accounts linked to the console will not be deleted, but they will be unlinked from the system.

    • Your Nintendo Account contains your Nintendo eShop purchase history and balance. By re-linking your Nintendo Account after initializing the console (to the same system or a different one), it is possible to re-download any software or DLC purchased using that account.

Still need assistance?

Chat to our Customer Service Team