If your New Nintendo 2DS XL, Nintendo 2DS, Nintendo 3DS or Nintendo 3DS XL has the latest system update installed, you will have the ability to perform a complete system transfer, including downloaded software, from one Nintendo 2DS, Nintendo 3DS or Nintendo 3DS XL to another.
You can see which version of the system software you have by accessing the System Settings and looking on the bottom right of the top screen.
Please note: If your Nintendo 3DS does not have system software version 3.0.0-5E or later please Click Here for instructions on how to perform a System Update.
The number of transfers is limited to a total of five for each Nintendo eShop account.
The number of transfers left will be displayed on both systems when carrying out the transfer and when selecting which systems to transfer with. The number of transfers you have left will be reset to 5 if you delete your Account Activity in Nintendo eShop.
Once the transfer process has completed, all data on the original system is deleted. After performing the transfer, any data on the SD Card of the original system can only be used on the new system, and will not be recognized by the original system.
During the transfer, data that is saved on the target unit's system memory is deleted entirely, and is replaced by the source system's data. If there are photographs or audio data saved to the target system's memory, please copy these to an SD Card prior to performing the system transfer.
In addition once the transfer is complete the source system will be reformatted, deleting all download software and saved data.
Please note it is not possible to transfer selected data or software – only a full system transfer may be performed.
Once a transfer has been made, a period of a week must pass before the systems may participate in another transfer.
It is not possible to transfer data between systems whose country or region settings differ.