Instructions on unlinking a Nintendo Account from a Nintendo Switch console.
Once a Nintendo Account is linked to a user account, this link cannot be undone. The associated user account must also be deleted to unlink a Nintendo Account from a Nintendo Switch console.
A Nintendo Account can be linked to more than one Nintendo Switch console at a time. You do not need to unlink the Nintendo Account prior to linking it to a second console.
Deleting a user account from a Nintendo Switch console will also delete any save data that is associated with that account and saved to the console.
Data deleted from a console cannot be restored unless it is first backed up using the Save Data Cloud service.
If you wish to retain save data that cannot be backed up using the Save Data Cloud service, do not delete the associated user account.
Unlinking a Nintendo Account from a Nintendo Switch console does not delete the Nintendo Account or any associated purchases. The Nintendo Account will still be available and can be re-linked to another user account in the future.
What to Do:
To unlink a single Nintendo Account from a Nintendo Switch console, delete the associated user account.
To unlink all Nintendo Accounts from a Nintendo Switch console, initialise the Nintendo Switch console.