Nintendo Support

How to Delete a Nintendo Account

In this article, you'll learn how to delete a Nintendo Account.

Important

  • Deleting a Nintendo Account will result in loss of all data associated to it, including but not limited to:

    • Mission status, points and rewards in the My Nintendo rewards program

    • Digital content that you purchased or acquired and that is linked to your Nintendo Account, including in-app content and coins

    • Save data of apps linked to your Nintendo Account

    • Discounts such as Just for You offers

  • Any Nintendo Accounts for children that are managed through a parent/guardian’s Nintendo Account will also be deleted as part of this process.

  • You may reactivate your account for a period of four weeks after deletion. Once this time frame has passed, the account will be permanently deleted and cannot be restored. 

Note

  • You can change various settings within your existing Nintendo Account, including your associated nickname, email address, country, and linked Nintendo Network ID or social media accounts instead of deleting your Nintendo Account.

  • Deleting your Nintendo Account will NOT delete your Nintendo Network ID or any associated third party accounts (including social media accounts).

  • If a family group admin deletes their Nintendo Account, accounts for users aged 13+ in the family group will not be deleted. However, they will no longer be connected in a family group. One of the Nintendo Account owners can add the others to create a new family group. 

Complete these steps

Standard Nintendo Account

  1. Sign into your Nintendo Account via the Nintendo Account website, and select Other Settings.

  2. Click the Delete Account link at the bottom of the page.

  3. Read through the onscreen information regarding Nintendo Account deletion.

  4. Once you have read the information, click Deactivate and Delete.

  5. Click Confirm Account Deletion to delete the Nintendo Account.

  • If you wish to reactivate your Nintendo Account within the next four weeks, you can go to the Nintendo Account website and enter your sign in information. Click Reactivate to restore your account. (Please note: we cannot guarantee that all data will be restored to reactivated accounts.)

Nintendo Account for a Child

  1. Nintendo Accounts for children can only be deleted through the parent/guardian’s Nintendo Account.

  2. The parent/guardian should log in to their account via the Nintendo Account website and click Family group.

  3. Click the child’s account that you want to delete.

  4. Click Other Settings.

  5. Click Delete child account.

  6. Read through the onscreen information regarding Nintendo Account deletion.

  7. Once you have read the information, click Deactivate and Delete.

  8. Click Confirm Account Deletion to delete the Nintendo Account.

  • If you wish to reactivate the child’s Nintendo Account within the next 30 days, you can go to the Child accounts section of your profile and locate the account you want to restore. Click Reactivate to restore the account. (Please note: we cannot guarantee that all data will be restored to reactivated accounts.)

Still need assistance?

Chat to our Customer Service Team