Nintendo Support

2124-0291

When attempting to transfer a User Account from one Nintendo Switch console to another, an error code is displayed.

Additional Information:

  • It is possible for a Nintendo Account to be linked to more than one Nintendo Switch console. 

  • While transferring a User from one Nintendo Switch console to another, if the Nintendo Account used in this process is already linked to a User on the target console, an error code will be displayed and the transfer will not be able to continue. 

What to Do:

Unlink the Nintendo Account from the User on the target console, then start the user and save data transfer again.

  • Unlinking a Nintendo Account from a user account will remove the association to that local user account on the console, but it does not deactivate the console.  

  • If you unlink a Nintendo Account, software purchased with the account can no longer be played on the system. 

  • The Nintendo Account can only be unlinked through the Nintendo Switch console. If you no longer have access to the system, you can change your Nintendo Account password by signing into your Account via https://accounts.nintendo.com to make sure your account isn’t accessible on the previous system. 

Additional Information:

  • Unlinking the Nintendo Account does not delete the Nintendo Account or associated purchases. The Nintendo Account will still be available, and can be re-linked to a user account in the future. 

  • Unlinking a Nintendo Account does not delete the user account on the system. 

  • Unlinking the Nintendo Account does not delete the save data on the system. The same user account can access the save data, regardless of whether the Nintendo Account is linked to it. 

  • The same Nintendo Account can be linked to more than one console at a time. You do not need to unlink your Nintendo Account before linking it to additional consoles. 

Complete These Steps:

  1. Select “System Settings” on the HOME Menu. 

  2. Scroll down to highlight “Users,” then select the appropriate user account to access the Profile Settings. 

  3. Scroll down to the bottom of the settings and select “Unlink Nintendo Account." 

  4. Select “Confirm,” then “Unlink” to unlink the Nintendo Account.

Still need assistance?

Chat to our Customer Service Team