Nintendo Switch System Update Notice

After installing the system update planned for 19 September 2018 (Wednesday), it will no longer be possible to unlink your Nintendo Account from your Nintendo Switch user.

Prior to this change, it is important to confirm that your Nintendo Account or your child’s Nintendo Account is linked to the correct user.

By ensuring that your Nintendo Account is linked to the correct user, you will be able to appropriately manage your save data, Nintendo Switch Online membership, and Nintendo eShop content.

How to Check
 

  1. You can check the linked Nintendo Account for each user from their user page > User Settings > Linked Nintendo Account. Part of the Nintendo Account holder's email and nickname will display.
     
  2. If you are not sure if the user is linked to the correct Nintendo Account, check the following:
    • On the Nintendo Account website, sign in and select the Shop Menu option on the left. Compare your current balance and total My Nintendo Gold Points with those on the Nintendo eShop on your Nintendo Switch console.
       
    • If you are still not sure, compare the digital software on your Nintendo Switch console with your Purchase History on the Shop Menu or check to see if you have received purchase confirmation emails.
       

Unlinking your Nintendo Account


You will be able to unlink prior to September 19th, 2018 (Wednesday).  For instructions, please see below.
 

Important:

  • Unlinking a Nintendo Account from a user account will remove the association to that local user account on the console, but it does not deactivate the console.
     
  • If you unlink a Nintendo Account, software purchased with the account can no longer be played on the system.
     
  • The Nintendo Account can only be unlinked through the Nintendo Switch console. If you no longer have access to the system, you can change your Nintendo Account password to make sure your account isn’t accessible on the previous system.
     

Additional Information:
 

  • Unlinking the Nintendo Account does not delete the Nintendo Account or associated purchases. The Nintendo Account will still be available, and can be re-linked to a user account in the future.
     
  • Unlinking a Nintendo Account does not delete the user account on the system.
     
  • Unlinking the Nintendo Account does not delete the save data on the system. The same user account can access the save data, regardless of whether the Nintendo Account is linked to it.
     
  • The same Nintendo Account can be linked to more than one console at a time. You do not need to unlink your Nintendo Account before linking it to additional consoles.
     

Complete These Steps:
 

  1. Select “System Settings” on the HOME Menu.
     
  2. Scroll down to highlight “Users,” then select the appropriate user account to access the Profile Settings.
     
  3. Scroll down to the bottom of the settings and select “Unlink Nintendo Account."
     
  4. Select “Confirm,” then “Unlink” to unlink the Nintendo Account.

Go Back